Skip to content

LadyFlowersbySusan

Healing and Empowerment for Women

photo

I saw an amazing opal necklace in Santa Fe. For $4200! It had a gold framed opal focal and opal beads.

I already had an opal pendant, made for me by my Aunt Katherine thirty years ago. I stepped a few doors down the street from the jewelry store to a bead shop and bought these pearls. I went back to the hotel, fired up my computer, and ordered the opal beads through Etsy.

Today I had time to sit down and string them all together. I will wear them with the pendant which I will hang on a short gold chain. The pearl necklace hangs longer. I know my Aunt Katherine would be thrilled.

Katherine worked in my dentist-grandfather’s office during the Great Depression, along with Mother and the other three sisters. Katherine was the crafty one so Grandaddy Doc taught her to work in gold. Back then “filling” were done with gold inlays on the tooth. Katherine continued to work in gold and silver until her death at 84.

Katherine died the way I want to: with her boots on. She had gone to an “old folk’s home” to teach a jewelry class. She went back to her car for something she’d forgotten, sat down on the car seat and died.

I looked up while I was stringing and saw my neighbor’s maple tree blazing over the rooftop. I wrote this haiku:

stringing pearls-/ over the roofline/ my neighbor’s blazing maple.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 913 other followers

